Board of Directors

Board of Directors



Andrew Bjerring (member-at-large)
Andrew Bjerring was a founding member of the Board of CANARIE Inc. and was President and CEO for 15 years prior to his retirement in October 2008.

   Peter Singendonk

Peter Singendonk (Chair), Cisco Systems Canada
Peter Singendonk is the Director, Strategic & Technical Operations at Cisco Systems Canada.

          davis trevor

Trevor Davis, Mount Royal University
Trevor Davis is the Associate Vice President of Research at Mount Royal University.

  robert tasker

Rob Tasker, TRTech
Rob Tasker is the President and CEO of TRTech (formerly TRLabs), a not-for-profit research and development company accelerating industry growth through information and communications technology (ICT) innovation.

          ClarkFerguson v2

Clark Ferguson, University of Lethbridge
Clark Ferguson leads the IT Services program at the University of Lethbridge.

  Leslie Warren

Leslie Warren
Leslie Warren is the former Economic Development Officer for Vulcan Business Development Society (VBDS), which encompasses 7 municipalities in Southern Alberta, within Vulcan County borders.

          Frank Maurer

Frank Maurer, University of Calgary
Frank Maurer is a professor at the University of Calgary as well as the Associate Vice President (Research).

  Justin Webb

Justin Webb, Bell Business Markets
Justin Webb is the Vice President within Bell Business Markets, responsible for the Western Region.


Jonathan Schaeffer (Vice Chair), University of Alberta
Jonathan Schaeffer is the Dean of the Faculty of Science and a computing science professor at the University of Alberta, and is currently the Vice Provost and Associate Vice President for Information Technology.


  • Peter Singendonk

    Peter Singendonk


    Peter Singendonk is the Director, Strategic Operations and Technical Operations at Cisco Systems, Canada.

  • Mike Macgregor

    Mike MacGregor

    (Vice Chair)

    Dr. Mike MacGregor a Professor in the Department of Computing Science, and Vice Provost and Associate Vice President (IT), at the University of Alberta.

  • Jaymon Lefebvre

    Jaymon Lefebvre

    Jaymon Lefebvre is the Director of Technology for Wild Rose School Division in Rocky Mountain House, Alberta.

  • Dr. Susan Skone

    Susan Skone

    Dr. Susan Skone is an Associate Vice-President (Research) and an Associate Professor in Geomatics Engineering at the University of Calgary.

  • Mike Battistel

    Mike Battistel

    Mike Battistel is the Vice President, Information Technology at Athabasca University.

  • Chris MacPhee 1 3

    Christopher MacPhee

    Christopher MacPhee is the Superintendent of Canadian Rockies Public School Division and second Vice President for the Board of Directors at the College of Alberta School Superintendents.

  • Matt Norton

    Matt Norton

    Matt Norton is the Director, Information Technology Services at Lethbridge College.

  • Darryl Vleeming

    Darryl Vleeming

    Darryl Vleeming is a senior information technology leader. He is currently the Vice President, Information Systems, and Chief Information Officer at Capital Power.

  • WIN 20150811 160718 2

    Doug Hawkins

    Doug Hawkins, P. Eng., is the Director of Infrastructure Services for the City of Lethbridge.