University of Alberta Announces New Chair in Computing Science

9 June 2008
Dr. Michael MacGregor has been offered and has accepted the position of Chair of the Department of Computing Science for a five-year term. Dr. MacGregor replaces Dr. Jonathan Schaeffer, who is assuming the position of Vice-Provost & Associate Vice-President of Information Technology with the University of Alberta. This position is currently held by Cybera board member Dr. Paul Sorenson.

In welcoming Dr. MacGregor to his position, Dean of Science Gregory Taylor said that the “leadership that Mike brings to this position will make important contributions to the continued success of the Department of Computing Science.”

Dr. MacGregor formally assumes his new position on July 1, 2008.